Nashville, Tenn. (August 9, 2010):  ASCAP (the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) will honor country music superstar Alan Jackson with the prestigious ASCAP Founders Award during its 48th annual Country Music Awards, taking place on Tuesday, September 14, 2010 at War Memorial Auditorium in downtown Nashville.  The invitation-only event will also honor the songwriters and publishers of ASCAP's most performed country songs from April 1, 2009 through March 31, 2010.

The ASCAP Founders Award is among the most important honors that ASCAP gives to songwriters and composers who have made pioneering contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators.  Each recipient is a musical innovator who possesses a unique style of creative genius that will enrich generations to come.  Past recipients include Paul McCartney, Garth Brooks, Stevie Wonder, Billy Joel, Smokey Robinson, Emmylou Harris, James Taylor and Jackson Browne.

Commenting on the award to Jackson, ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams said, "Alan is one of the most prolific and influential artists in country music.  He has consistently topped the charts without compromising his artistry, style and love of tradition, captivating millions with songs that are honest, heartfelt and entertaining.  He's a genuine superstar, and we are very proud to honor him with ASCAP's Founders Award."

From his debut release in 1990, Here in the Real World, to his latest album, Freight Train, Alan Jackson has sold more than 50 million albums and scored 34 #1 hits, including "Don't Rock The Jukebox," "Chattahoochee," "Gone Country," "Little Bitty," "Right on the Money," "Where I Come From," "Drive (For Daddy Gene)," and "Small Town Southern Man," to name a few.  Two decades into his career, he continues to inspire audiences across several generations with his modern approach to classic country.  He has received numerous industry awards and accolades, including a Grammy Award for Best Country Song for “Where Were You (When the World Stopped Turning),” 16 CMA Awards, 16 ACM Awards, 46 ASCAP Country Music Awards, and seven ASCAP Songwriter/Artist of the Year Awards, among many others.  In 2001, he was inducted into the Georgia Music Hall of Fame, and the following year he was honored with ASCAP's Golden Note Award for his extraordinary contributions to music.  Earlier this year, Jackson was honored with a Star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

“Alan upholds the songwriting legacy of country music's greatest icons," said Tim DuBois, Vice President and Managing Executive, ASCAP Nashville.  “The fact that he’s been celebrating chart-topping hits for 20 years is a testament to his ability to speak directly to his audience.  I’ve had the pleasure of knowing him for more than two decades and am proud of his remarkable career achievements."  

The 48th annual ASCAP Country Music Awards will also feature special presentations to the Songwriter of the Year, Songwriter/Artist of the Year, Song of the Year and Publisher of the Year.  The evening will feature performances by several award-winning songwriter/performers.


Established in 1914, ASCAP is the first and leading U.S. Performing Rights Organization (PRO) representing the world's largest repertory totaling over 8.5 million copyrighted musical works of every style and genre from more than 390,000 songwriter, composer and music publisher members.  ASCAP has representation arrangements with similar foreign organizations so that the ASCAP repertory is represented in nearly every country around the world where copyright law exists.  ASCAP protects the rights of its members and foreign affiliates by licensing the public performances of their copyrighted works and distributing royalties based upon surveyed performances.  ASCAP is the only American PRO owned and governed by its writer and publisher members.