NASHVILLE, Tenn. (May 24, 2021) – Country superstar Alan Jackson’s new album, Where Have You Gone, debuts at #1 on the U.S. Current Country Album Chart as well as being the #1 country album in the United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. With album equivalent units of 31,610, Jackson earns his 15th Top 10 album on the all-genre Billboard 200 chart and Where Have You Gone lands at #2 on the Billboard Country Album chart.

Where Have You Gone – Jackson’s first album of all new music in six years, produced by longtime friend and colleague Keith Stegall – features 21 songs…15 of them written by the Songwriters Hall of Fame member himself.

“Jackson returns with Where Have You Gone, a new studio album where the plain-spoken wordsmith sings about fatherly love, once-in-a-lifetime loss and the barn-burnin' honky-tonk music that remains near his heart,” raves USA Today. “…Where Have You Gone, a sprawling 21-track compilation that finds the Country Music Hall of Fame member reflecting on the state of his beloved genre, paying tribute to his late mother, and, in some songs, simply having a honky-tonking good time,” says Rolling Stone. While HITS Magazine notes, “Every bit as affecting, Where Have You Gone is the quiet superstar's rebuke to those who would forget the roots of where this music comes from."

Led by the self-penned title track, Where Have You Gone is highlighted by such songs as the poignant and thoughtful “Things That Matter,” the heartache-filled “Way Down in My Whiskey” and the tender “I Can Be That Something.” Never one to shy away from reflecting real life in his music, “You’ll Always Be My Baby” and “I Do” were written for his daughters’ weddings…while “Where Her Heart Has Always Been” was written for his mother’s funeral and includes a recording of her reading from The Bible. There’s also plenty of fun to be had on barnburners like “Livin’ On Empty,” “Back” and “Beer:10.” And, in the spirit of the album’s overall sound, “That’s The Way Love Goes (A Tribute to Merle Haggard)” is a bonus track.

Where Have You Gone was released May 14 – exactly 30 years after his second album, Don’t Rock the Jukebox.

Jackson marked Where Have You Gone’s release with performances on the 56th Annual ACM Awards (“Drive”/”You’ll Always Be May Baby”) and the Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon (“Way Down In My Whiskey”). On Sunday, May 30, Jackson will appear as part of the National Memorial Day Concert on PBS (8:00pm ET). Next month – on June 26 – he’ll headline a benefit concert in his hometown of Newnan, Georgia, which was severely impacted by an EF-4 tornado earlier this year; the massive outdoor event sold out in a matter of hours on Friday.


Track Listing

  1. "Where Have You Gone" (Alan Jackson)

2. “Wishful Drinkin’” (Alan Jackson)

3. “I Can Be That Something” (Alan Jackson)

4. “Where the Cottonwood Grows” (Alan Jackson)

5. “Way Down In My Whiskey” (Alan Jackson)

6. “Things That Matter” (Robert Keith Stegall, Michael White)

7. “Livin' On Empty” (Alan Jackson)

8. “You'll Always Be My Baby (Written for Daughters’ Weddings)” (Alan Jackson)

9. “Where Her Heart Has Always Been (Written for Mama’s funeral with an old recording of her reading from The Bible)” (Alan Jackson)

10. “The Boot” (Adam Wright)

11. “Back” (Alan Jackson)

12. “Write It In Red” (Alan Jackson)

13. “So Late So Soon” (Scotty Emerick, Daniel Tashian, Sarah Buxton)

14. “This Heart Of Mine” (Adam Wright)

15. “A Man Who Never Cries” (Alan Jackson)

16. “Chain” (Alan Jackson)

17. “I Was Tequila” (Alan Jackson)

18. “I Do (Written for Daughters' Weddings)” (Alan Jackson)

19. “Beer:10” (Alan Jackson)

20. “The Older I Get”* (Hailey Whitters, Adam Wright, Sarah Turner)
Extra Track: “That's The Way Love Goes” (A Tribute to Merle Haggard) (Lefty Frizzell, Whitey Shafer)

Produced by Robert Keith Stegall

*Produced by Keith Stegall